Writer Interupted

So, I’m bummed to announce that I have a bad case of Writer’s Block. I shouldn’t complain, as I have not been inflicted with it for a very long time. I’m not sure how it works for others, but it always seems to appear when there is a lot going on in my life. And it always seems to happen when I am at a good pace with my writing. When I am on track and in line to meeting goals I have set for myself. Writing is not just a hobby for me. It is a part of who I am so for me not to be able to create anything is a struggle in and of itself. I’m happiest when I am creating, which is the reason for this post. It may not be a story, but I wanted to release something since it’s been a while. I have been working hard on my next story. Writing, deleting, rewiting, staring at my screen for hours…until finally I decided to scratch it and start over, hoping that was the problem, but it wasn’t. No matter how hard I try I simply can’t form sentances. Nothing sounds right to me. Nothing makes sense. It’s been a while since I have released a story and I was excited to bring you my next adventure, but now that Writer’s Block has set in, all I can do is walk away from my projects and wait it out. I’d like to say Thank you to all those who have followed my Blog and once I find my way back to creativity I will release my next adventure.ย Until then, cross you fingers and wish me luck it doesn’t last too long.

~O

14 thoughts on “Writer Interupted

  1. Sorry to hear about your writer’s block! It’s always tough, especially if things have been flowing well until then. I’ve heard the suggestion to pick up a favorite book and start typing it out, copying it as a way to get your own creativity flowing – not sure how well that works, though…good luck!

    • Thank you for your support! And thank you for offering a tip tp help me. I actually have a specific book I’ve been meaning to spend some time with ๐Ÿ™‚ I think I’ll curl up with it this eveining after the kids go to bed.

      ~O

    • Thank you! I have begun a journal to keep my mind active through the block. I may have temorarily lost my creativity but never my thoughts so I’m hoping the free writing will work its magic ๐Ÿ™‚

      ~O

  2. I was in the same situation last week. I took a three-day break and let my subconscious work on the problem. The problem solved itself. Try not to think about what you’re writing, or trying to write, until you sit down and get to work. When I’m stuck, I get my best ideas by taking a walk around the block. And never despair. Remember what Ernest Hemingway told himself when he had writer’s block: You wrote yesterday, you will write today, and you will write tomorrow.
    Having the confidence to produce work of merit is hard, I know. But any words you put down can always be changed later. Even if what you write is not up to your standards (I’m my worst critic, as you seem to be yours) the words are a springboard to what you really want to say.

    • Thank you so very much. I’m on my second day of taking a break so I’m hoping I catch a break soon. I love the quote from Ernest Hemingway, and along with your suggecstion to just write, I am sitting down this morning to work on my novel. Since I missed registration for NaNovWriMo I started on my own and, being a form of free writing, not really knowing what happens next or will it will take me, I am hoping that it helps me break through my block.

    • Thank you. As a writer, I have a deep love for books and they are my favorite thing to photograph when I come across them on locations.

      Thank you also for leaving a link. I’m heading over to read it now :’)

      ~ O

      • Me too but I hadn’t thought about photographing them. I always use stock photos for my block posts but your beautiful pictures have inspired me to get my lenses out and take my own pics. Photography took a back seat while I was writing my novel but I miss it. Time to get out and start snapping ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I am a very visual person and I love using my own work for my writing. I also have it framed in my home and the shots of books will be going in my office once it’s complete. Are you an explorer?

      • Yes, absolutely! It’s just difficult to find time. I’m also very visual. You’ll love Pinterest. I wrote a post this week on using it to inspire your writing and creating mood boards. An office sounds great. I’m looking forward to finding the space to put up photos and writing inspiration that won’t take over the house. I seem to remember you found me on twitter a while ago but I can’t see you on there now. Are you spending more time blogging?

Leave a Reply

